The Miracle of Flight

Little Egret (Egretta garzetta)

For as long as I live on this planet flight will remain one of the most amazing feats ever achieved - by any creature. Over the past several days I have been trying to get a few last sections of the Louisiana Gulf Coast documented from the air - weather has stifled the effort - today looks very promising so I sit waiting on my pilot Tom Hutchings, flying for SouthWings.org, to pick me up. As I wait at this tiny airstrip in the bayou country of SW Louisiana the sky is alive with soaring, sailing and flapping egrets, herons, pelicans and a host of smaller birds. Each works the sky with stunning agility, twisting and banking with acrobatic deftness I only wish I could attempt - even with the aid of Tom's skill and experience. It's part of the beauty of photography and filming - for those few moments we get to share the thrill of being airborne, the experience, the flight. Photo: Canon 7D, 560mm @ f/9; 1/1250sec.; ISO250. Copyright Gerry Ellis/Audubon/Minden Pictures.

This entry was posted in Aerials and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

